Tulsa DUI Defense Attorney Since 1999
A drunk driving charge can cost you your driving privileges and even put you behind bars. Whether you have been charged with a simple DUI or are accused of something even more serious, you need sound legal advice and strong advocacy before you make your next move.
I am attorney Stephen Cale, and I have practiced Oklahoma criminal defense law for nearly 25 years. At my firm, Cale Law Office, I have defended numerous clients against a range of DUI and DWI charges. I will fiercely defend your rights and carefully examine the evidence. Together, we will devise a strategy for dealing with a drunk driving charge that minimizes the impact on your daily life and criminal record.
Oklahoma’s Drinking And Driving Laws
Oklahoma laws aggressively punish drunk and drugged driving. In fact, the state has some of the harshest DUI sentencing guidelines in the country. A first DUI offense carries a sentence of 10 days to one year in jail, plus a fine of up to $1,000. The State may also suspend your driver’s license for at least 180 days. And, in some circumstances, if you already have one or more DUI convictions on your record, the law requires a jail sentence of one to five years for a second offense and up to 10 years for a third offense. Aggravating factors, such as a blood alcohol content (BAC) above 0.15, can increase the penalties even further.
Along with driving under the influence (DUI), Oklahoma criminalizes driving while impaired (DWI), which is driving with a BAC above 0.05 but below 0.08, the limit for DUI. Because the level of impairment is lower, a DWI charge carries lighter possible penalties, but it is still a serious charge that must be defended against.
There may be options for keeping you out of jail and regaining your license sooner. I will explain your options and help you decide what to do. You do not necessarily have to plead guilty to every DUI or DWI charge.