The Oklahoma House of Representatives recently approved a bill expanding marijuana patient licenses to nonresidents, said Tulsa medical marijuana attorney Stephen Cale. The State Senate will now consider the bill.
THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN NONRESIDENT PATIENT LICENSES NOW AND UNDER THE BILL
Currently, only medical marijuana license holders from other states with medical marijuana programs can get a nonresident marijuana patient license. The current nonresident patient licenses are good for only 30 days.
On Feb. 23rd, the House approved HB2022, authored by Rep. Scott Fetgatter (R-Okmulgee). The bill would expand the duration of nonresident marijuana patient license from 30 days to two years. Also, the bill opens marijuana patient licenses to nonresidents from all states, not just medical marijuana states.
OTHER HIGHLIGHTS OF THE NONRESIDENT PATIENT LICENSE BILL
- A person applying for the nonresident patient license must be at least 18 years old.
- An Oklahoma doctor must sign the license application.
- A qualifying medical condition is not required for a nonresident medical marijuana patient license.
- The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) may contact the recommending physician to verify the need the license.
- The cost of the nonresident license will be $200. Oklahoma residents pay $100 for their medical marijuana patient licenses.
He works with a number of marijuana-related organizations. He is a Legal Committee member of the National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws (NORML). Additionally, he serves on the board of Green Country NORML, a Tulsa chapter of NORML. He also serves as a board member for, and is on the Standard Operating Procedures steering committee for, OK4U Approved, a medical marijuana patient union and trade organization.